Published: Thu, February 16, 2017
Science | By Guadalupe Butler

Uttarakhand, 2nd phase of UP polls begin

Uttarakhand, 2nd phase of UP polls begin

News organisations and survey groups conduct exit polls to glean the first pointers to the likely victor but the election commission bans their publication until all rounds of voting are completed. The election for this constituency will be held on March 9 while the results for all the five poll-bound states Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Manipur, Goa and Punjab will be declared on March 11.

In UP, the seats where voting was held were spread over Bijnor, Saharanpur, Moradabad, Sambhal, Rampur, Bareilly, Amroha, Pilibhit, Kheri, Shahjahanpur and Badaun districts.

A total of 2,28,79,185 voters in these constituencies were eligible to cast their votes in these constituencies, including 1,23,84,449 male voters and 1,04,93,671 female voters, along with 1065 of the third gender. Today's polling has decided the fate of 721 candidates in the fray, which includes 82 women. Over-all, polling in 69 of the 70 constituencies in the hill state ended on a peaceful note, Election Commission officials said.

The polling party set out on February 12 to reach the polling booth in Dhumak in Badrinath assembly constituency, which lies in Chamoli district, and reached late on February 14.

The 13 seats where Congress rebels were fielded as BJP candidates is keenly watched as the 13 party-hoppers in Narendranagar, Kotdwar, Roorkee, Khanpur, Bazpur, Nainital, Raipur, Chaubattakhal, Yamunotri, Sitarganj, Jaspur, Kedarnath and Someshwar remain in the spotlight.

Last time, the Congress managed to win just one seat more than the BJP's 31, and later wooed Independents and Uttarakhand Kranti Dal to form the government.

Indians voted on Wednesday in the second round of a state election that is the biggest test of support for Prime Minister Narendra Modi since he rose to power three years ago, as controversy raged over the illegal publication of an exit poll.

With 6 lakh Muslim voters and 4.5 lakh Dalit voters in the two districts, the BSP has made it a triangular contest for the Congress and the BJP.

Like this: